# Smith Family Foundation: Odyssey Award

A program of the Richard and Susan Smith Family Foundation



# **Alumni Directory**

2018 - 2023

The Richard and Susan Smith Family Foundation is committed to effecting permanent positive change in the lives of the residents of Greater Boston, particularly individuals and families in economically disadvantaged communities. Today, three generations of the Smith family oversee the Foundation, stewarding approximately \$15 million annually in grants aimed at promoting greater health, educational attainment, and economic mobility. In the area of health, the Foundation supports the advancement of biomedical research and the expansion of access to high-quality health care at safety net institutions serving low-income individuals and communities of Greater Boston.

The Smith Family Foundation: Odyssey Award was created in 2017 to fuel creativity and innovation in junior investigators in the basic sciences. The Award supports the pursuit of high impact ideas to generate breakthroughs and drive new directions in biomedical research. The Award funds high-risk, high-reward pilot projects solicited from the brightest junior faculty in the region. The Awards are currently in the amount of \$400,000 over two years.

Over the past 5 years, the Smith Family Foundation: Odyssey Award has helped launch the careers of 32 outstanding scientists with support totaling \$10.1 million.

The following is a listing of all Award Recipients in alphabetical order with current contact information as well as the title of the funded research project. The Smith Family is extraordinarily proud of the accomplishments of its Awardees and is honored to provide the critical support for their newly established research programs.

#### Jonathan Abraham, M.D., Ph.D.

(2022 Award Recipient) Cracking the codes of emerging virus entry Harvard Medical School jonathan abraham@hms.harvard.edu

Lydia Bourouiba, Ph.D. (2018 Award Recipient)

Respiratory Disease Transmission: Mechanistic Understanding for Control and **Prevention of Epidemics** Massachusetts Institute of Technology lbouro@mit.edu

#### Alan Brown, Ph.D.

(2023 Award Recipient) The Molecular Organization of a *Liquid-like Biomolecular Condensate* Harvard Medical School alan brown@hms.harvard.edu

#### Benjamin Lovegren de Bivort, Ph.D.

(2018 Award Recipient) Mapping Loci of Individuality for Spontaneous and Stimulus-Evoked **Behaviors** Harvard University debivort@oeb.harvard.edu

# Edward Chouchani, Ph.D.

(2021 Award Recipient) Systematic Chemical Manipulation Of Redox Sensitive Cysteines To Regulate Inflammatory Processes **Dana-Farber Cancer Institute** EdwardT Chouchani@dfci.harvard.edu

Joseph Davis, Ph.D. (2023 Award Recipient) Visualizing Protein Complexes At The Membrane Massachusetts Institute of Technology jhdavis@mit.edu

#### Marcelo Dietrich, M.D.

(2021 Award Recipient) Opioid-Producing Neurons that Mediate the Attachment of Infants to their Mothers Yale University marcelo.dietrich@yale.edu

#### Jenna Galloway, Ph.D.

(2021 Award Recipient) Identifying the molecular and cellular determinants of exercise-driven tendon remodeling Massachusetts General Hospital jgalloway@mgh.harvard.edu

#### Elena Gracheva, Ph.D.

(2018 Award Recipient) Regulation of Fluid and Ionic Balance Under Extreme Physiological States in a Mammalian Hibernator Yale University elena.gracheva@yale.edu

# Yonatan Grad, M.D., Ph.D.

(2020 Award Recipient) Mechanisms of Host-pathogen Interactions from Conditionally Essential and Deleterious Genes Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health ygrad@hsph.harvard.edu

# Paul Greer, Ph.D.

(2023 Award Recipient) Elucidating Common Mechanisms Across Neurodegenerative Disorders University of Massachusetts Chan Medical School

Paul.Greer@umassmed.edu

#### Arthanari Haribabu, Ph.D.

(2022 Award Recipient) Focus on the Blindspot: Deciphering the Functional Role of Disordered Regions on the Enzymatic Activity of Enzymes Dana-Farber Cancer Institute hari arthanari@hms.harvard.edu

Ya-Chieh Hsu, Ph.D.

(2018 Award Recipient) Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms of Fetal Skin Regeneration Harvard University yachieh hsu@harvard.edu

Dong Kong, Ph.D. (2022 Award Recipient)

Genetic Dissection of Dyslipidemia in Neurodevelopmental Disorders Boston Children's Hospital dong.kong@childrens.harvard.edu

#### Ruaidhri Jackson, Ph.D.

(2023 Award Recipient) Interchromosomal mRNA Chimerism in Innate Immunity Harvard Medical School ruaidhri jackson@hms.harvard.edu

#### Shantanu Jadhav, Ph.D.

(2019 Award Recipient) Neural Coordination Mechanisms for Memory Function and Dysfunction Brandeis University shantanu@brandeis.edu

#### Gene-Wei Li, Ph.D.

(2020 Award Recipient) Breakaway Transcription as an Alternative Paradigm for Bacterial Gene Expression Massachusetts Institute of Technology gwli@mit.edu

#### Maofu Liao, Ph.D.

(2019 Award Recipient) Elucidating the Molecular Mechanism of ABCA7, a Membrane Transporter associated with Alzheimer's Disease Harvard Medical School maofu liao@hms.harvard.edu

#### Chenxiang Lin, Ph.D.

(2020 Award Recipient) Tension-loaded DNA Nanodevices for Structural Determination of Mechanosensitive Proteins Yale University chenxiang.lin@yale.edu

#### Sebastian Lourido, Ph.D.

(2021 Award Recipient) Controlling the developmental transitions of a eukaryotic pathogen Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research <u>lourido@wi.mit.edu</u>

#### Sarah McMenamin, Ph.D.

(2021 Award Recipient) Mechanisms by which shape is specified and remembered during development and regeneration of the zebrafish fin Boston College <u>mcmenams@bc.edu</u>

Meenakshi Rao, M.D., Ph.D. (2020 Award Recipient) *Glial Phagocytosis in Intestinal Homeostasis* Boston Children's Hospital <u>Meenakshi.Rao@childrens.harvard.edu</u>

Mohsan Saeed, Ph.D. (2023 Award Recipient) Deciphering the Immune Evasion Mechanisms of Arboviruses in Mosquitoes Boston University School of Medicine <u>msaeed@bu.edu</u>

#### Sichen Shao, Ph.D.

(2022 Award Recipient) Establishing Tractable Systems to Mechanistically Dissect Mammalian ERAD Harvard Medical School Sichen Shao@hms.harvard.edu

# Sarah Slavoff, Ph.D.

(2019 Award Recipient) Non-Canonical Translation of Small Open Reading Frames in the Human Genome Yale Cancer Center sarah.slavoff@yale.edu

# Mansi Srivastava, Ph.D.

(2020 Award Recipient) Comparing Development and Regeneration to Uncover Mechanisms for Maintaining Regenerative Ability in Adult Animals Harvard University mansi@oeb.harvard.edu

# Andrew Wang, M.D., Ph.D.

(2021 Award Recipient) Understanding the Role of Brain T-cells in Defending Sleep Yale University andrew.wang@yale.edu

# Marc Wein, M.D., Ph.D.

(2022 Award Recipient) *Trafficking and Translation of mRNA in Osteocyte Dendrites* Massachusetts General Hospital <u>mnwein@mgh.harvard.edu</u>

# Jing-Ke Weng, M.D., Ph.D. (2018 Award Recipient)

Novel Psychiatric Therapeutics Inspired by Bioactive Plant Polyketides Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research wengj@wi.mit.edu

# Jessica Whited, Ph.D.

(2019 Award Recipient) Transmission of Amputation Information Throughout the Body in Axolotl Brigham and Women's Hospital jessica\_whited@harvard.edu

# Craig Wilen, M.D., Ph.D.

(2022 Award Recipient) Epigenetic Regulation of Coronavirus Susceptibility Yale University craig.wilen@yale.edu

# Wesley Philip Wong, Ph.D.

(2019 Award Recipient) Single-Molecule Protein Identification with Mechanical Nanocalipers Boston Children's Hospital wong@idi.harvard.edu